peepsBook Title: Peeps
Author: Scott Westerfeld
# of pages: 312
Publisher: Allyn & Bacon (September 7, 2006)

OKAY, LET’S CLEAR UP SOME MYTHS ABOUT VAMPIRES.
FIRST OF ALL, YOU WON’T SEE ME USING THE
V-WORD MUCH, IN THE NIGHT WATCH,
WE PREFER THE TERM PARASITE POSITIVES,
OR PEEPS FOR SHORT.

THE MAIN THING TO REMEMBER IS THAT THERE’S NO MAGIC
INVOLVED, NO FLYING, NO TRANSFORMING INTO BATS OR
RATS EITHER. WE’RE TALKING ABOUT A DISEASE.

After a chance encounter with a mysterious woman one night, Cal Thompson’s life is changed forever. He’s been infected with an insidious parasite. The good news: he’s only a carrier–still sane, without the worst of the symptoms. The bad news: he’s infected all his former girlfriends–and now they’ve turned into what Cal calls peeps. The rest of us call them vampires. And it’s Cal’s job to hunt them down before they create even more of their kind.

I picked this book randomly at my school randomly since I haven’t taken an AR test in awhile for English even though I have enough points. It’s seeing how many I can get within the school year, and I was kinda surprised that they would put this book in our school library but oh well. Even if they sort of freak me out, I do like novels by Westerfeld.

So many vampire books out there, but Peeps is all about vampires in a whole different perspective which is as a disease by parasites. (if you hadn’t figured that out) There isn’t much of a love-ish side to this like Twilight. It sort of freaked me out with all the mentioning of all these parasites that are real. [that’s why I need to read a nice light cute book after this.(:]

