A little Q&A with Wendy Toliver! Thanks so much to Wendy Toliver for willing to be interviewed for my site and be the very first author!

ME. What else do you love to do except for writing? p4030104

WT. I love skiing and snowboarding, playing basketball, reading, hanging out with my friends and family, and traveling. Boy, a trip to Costa Rica sounds amazing right about now.

ME. What are some of your favorite books/novels?

WT. The Simon Pulse Romantic Comedies (check out http://www.pulserocom.com), Snitch by Allison Van Diepen, The Second Virginity of Suzy Green by Sara Hantz, Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden, The Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr, Fashionably Late by Nadine Dajani.. the list goes on!

ME. How about favorite authors?

WT. On my bookshelves, I have multiple books by: Charles Dickens, Oscar Wilde, Sarah Dessen, Judy Blume, Meg Cabot, Linda Gerber, Stephen King, Kate Harmon, Stephen Hunter, and Susan Squires, to name a few. (Check out the fabulous authors of http://www.teenfictioncafe.blogspot.com)

ME. Are you working on any future books? missmatch_lr1

WT. I’m getting ready for MISS MATCH to come out, Feb. 10. I’m also working on LIFTED, which will be published by Simon Pulse next year. It’s about a transplant to parochial school who learns that not all students are as pious as they seem when she’s inducted into a shoplifting clique and soon finds herself in over her head. I’m really excited about it.

ME. What are you currently reading?

WT. Courage in Patience by Beth Fehlbaum.

ME. Why do you love writing for teenagers?

WT. For one thing, I loved my own teenage years. No, I wasn’t prom queen or the class president or the star basketball player. But I made some really great friends, had some interesting experiences, and loved believing that I had an exciting and mysterious future ahead of me.

For two, teens are the greatest fans ever. I love getting emails, letters, and reviews from teens who have read my books. I also like visiting schools and hanging out with students on their own turf. I truly love writing young adult fiction, and I hope I’ll get to for quite a while

