I finished reading My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult yesterday.  I personally liked these book even though my vocab was as advanced as some of the words in My Sister’s Keeper. It is sad though I try to avoid reading books like that. I read this particular book because I was standing in Sam’s one day around the books, and happened to pick up these book. Then I ended up not being able to buy it, so i went to the library and got it from there. I’ve always wondered why some book titles have a novel at the end, for instance like these book. Hmm…

This book is about a girl, Anna, who is a “designer baby”.  Before Anna’s born, her parents got a preimplantation genetic diagnosis; so, she could be the perfect match for ger older sister, Kate who has leukemia. By thirteen, Anna has been in many surgeries and trips to the hosipital for her sister’s sake. Anna then starts to question who she really is: she’s always been defined in the teams of Kate.  There isn’t many things Anna has in her life except for Kate and her family.  Kate’s not only her sister but her best friend. This doesn’t stop her from going to a lawyer’s office wanting to be medically emancipated. She’s willing to make all the sacrifices she can for this, even losing her sister.

My Sister’s Keeper has a surprising ending to me.  I didn’t think it would end like that.  I did shed some tears because of the ending, but all is good now.  I seem to have a song that somehow reminds of a book.  For instance, I do for this book.  I heard it on the radio this past week.  It’s become my favorite song.  The song is Fall For You by Secondhand Serenade.  I have no idea why it reminds me of this book, but it just does.
Vocabulary I didn’t know So I looked it up:
embryonic-(adj) an early developmental stage
desiccated-(adj) dried/without vitality
rhododendron-(n) ornamental tree
Hawkeye-(n) somebody from Iowa
rogue-(adj) unorthodox or unpredictable/dangerous and solitary
patchouli-(n) aromatic oil
clairvouance-(n) seeing what is not normally seen
eminently-(adv) very
arabesque-(n) formal pose of ballet dancer
paraphernalia-(n) assorted objects/equipment, apparatus, or furnishing used in or necessary for a particular activity
aggrandize-(v) enlarge or extend something
evasive-(adj) avoiding an issue or trouble
vigilant-(adj) watchful and alert
anathema-(n) a person or thing detested or loathed
insidious-(adj) operating or proceeding in an inconspicuous or seemingly harmless way but actually with grave effect
eulogy-(n) a speech or writing in praise of a person or thing, esp. a set oration in honor of a deceased person
vigil-(n) a watch or a period of watchful attention maintained at night or at other times

